Clutch burned out

My girlfriend has a 2001 Toyota Solara. I’ve been driving it, infrequently, for about 3 years, and while it’s an older car, I never had any problems engaging the clutch. My girlfriend also did not have any issues with the car. I don’t have a lot of experience with manual transmissions, so I was hoping someone could answer a few questions.

Recently, we let our friend use it for the day. I dropped the car off at his place and did not notice anything wrong with it. The next day, I got a call from my friend who said that the car was emitting a weird smell and that he was having a hard time engaging the clutch. By the end of the day, he could no longer engage the clutch and had to leave it on the side of the road.

We got it towed to a garage, and when they looked at it, they said the clutch was totally burned out. My friend insists that he has plenty of experience driving with a manual transmission and that there must have been a problem with the clutch before we gave him the car. Is this possible? It seems unlikely to me, as neither my girlfriend nor I had any problems with the car. It’s not like we were struggling to engage the clutch- it was fine when I dropped it off, and then the next day it’s totally burned out.

That does seem somewhat unusually fast. Usually when the first signs of clutch slippage happen you have a couple of days to get it into a shop before it goes entirely.

Some people just don’t know what they’re doing with a manual. Those people are getting more and more common as automatics and DCTs become even more popular. It’s entirely possible your friend doesn’t know what he’s doing and was revving to 5,000 before slowly letting out on the clutch to get started.

That said, the car is 16 years old and that’s a long time for a clutch to last. It was probably getting close to being ready to die anyway and if anything, your friend just delivered the final death blow.