RPMs shoot up in cruise control?

Ok I’ll try and make this brief,

About a month ago I’m driving at 60 down the highway with cruise on when all of a sudden the RPMs start from 2,000 to about 5,000. The Jeep doesn’t go any faster and as soon as I take it off cruise control (tap the brakes, hit the off button) or even holding down the Decel button for a few seconds it acts normal unless I hit the off button then immediately turn cruise back on it jumps right back up, but if it’s off for about 3 seconds it’s fine.

Now being an amateur mechanic my first thought was rebuild the transmission. So I did. And well that was a waste of $3000 because it’s still doing it.

It’s a Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi.
Thanks

1 Like

If so, then either the tach is misreading, or the transmission is downshifting. or something is wrong with the transmission.

Do you hear it downshifting? do you hear the RPMs increase? Does this occur on a hill only?

Does this occur with driving with the cruise control off?

1 Like

I can hear the RPMs it literally sounds like a jet engine just quieter of course.
It doesn’t feel like it shifts at all, it’s all smooth from start to finish.

It doesn’t happen if cruise is off at all, and when it does it’s flat as Kansas.

The transmission was rebuilt about 2 weeks ago by a professional not me.

I’d take it back to the guy who did the rebuild. Could you demonstrate this for him? How repeatable is it?

He hooked up his transmission reader before it was rebuilt and said the reasons weren’t bad at all, he rebuilt it and said when he opened it up it wasn’t in bad shape at all but it was definitely getting old. When he completed it he said it went great and nothing unexpected happened. He does a free service after a rebuild and told us to get it done about 2500 miles after the rebuild so I’ll ask when that time comes.