Road trip in a 04 Mitsubishi lancer

Ill be going from southern Georgia to Kansas in my 2004 Mitsubishi lancer with 160k miles on it. The farthes ive driven it non stop was to South Carolina. The only real problem i see, obviously im not a car expert but, it does shake a bit at times then eventually it’s smooth sailing. Is it a good idea going through with it? Not too good at explaining, i apologize.

The shaking could be anything from missing to a suspension issue. Any check engine light, uneven tire wear, or specifics of when it shakes, ie braking? How have you kept up with routine maintenance as prescribed in the manual?

You see barkydog the car was a hand me down for a few months now so im unsure to your last question, im still learning. But to the first no engine lights are on and the tires are fine, it does shake when i brake but only at times, you know? Sometimes when im stoping at street lights or on the high way when i have to slow down not crazy shaking and not always but i know cars shouldn’t in the first place. Sometimes it shakes as i increase speed too.

The sometimes it shakes when accellerating seems to rule out brake rotors, no check engine light is good. The legal team of Dewey Cheatem and Howe advise against the journey until you have a mechanic check the car out.

There’s no way of determining what this car may or may not need. In regards to the shaking there could be more than one issue involved.
The shaking on acceleration could point to a suspenion/steering issue, tire balance, or engine performance problem.
The shaking when braking could be due to a brake, suspension, or wheel bearing issue.

Short of a total inspection, all fluids should be checked and the engine oil changed. Fluids should be monitored during the trip.