Research project

I’m doing research on internal combustion engines. What I’d like to know is:

o what are the TOP 3 problems, in order, that shortens engine life

o what did you do as the best solution

Your help is greatly appreciated…

brakefast

PS Saying maintenance does not tell me a whole lot. Be specific, please.

As a former University Professor I will give you the same advice I have handed out for years…do the research yourself…just google - internal combustion engines -
and search for information…you will learn so much more from that exercise than you can imagine…you then wil be able to answer your own questions

What you will get here are opinions and perspectives based on personal experience, not anything factual. mshugna is right. This forum isn’t the place to go to for research unless someone else can point you in the direction of something factual.

If you are doing an informal survey, here is my two cents:

1. People neglect their vehicles by not following the maintenance schedule for each vehicle. Sometimes they only do oil changes, but don’t bother to do anything else, and sometimes they don’t do any maintenance until something breaks. The solution is to keep up with the maintenance schedule in the owner’s manual.

2. People abuse their vehicles by accelerating hard, braking hard, and generally driving too fast, especially around corners. This kind of driving is hard on the whole car, not just the engine. The solution is to accelerate and brake gently and take corners as speeds around 10-15 MPH.