Replacing spark plugs - Corolla 03 VVTI (I’m a newbie!)

Hello everyone!

This is my first post I’m making on Car Talk! I’m just messaging in for some assistance as to whether you guys think I’d be able to change some spark plugs for my partners car.

We went to a mechanic a few days ago cause her car has been idling extremely clunky, similar to what a V8 with a crazy cam would feel like and also the acceleration is really bad. You’ll plant your foot down and it would feel as though the power just isn’t hitting the floor at all. I was going up a hill with Over Drive on with the pedal to the floor and I was only reaching 40km, no further than that. Now, even on a flat surface, upon take off usually in the rev range of 0-2k it really shudders and doesn’t accelerate very well at all.

The mechanic we went to topped us up with NZ 98 octane and put some fluid transmission in and it sort of fixed the problem but it came back. They noted the car needs a service for sure and the spark plugs need replacing but the service can’t take place till mid Jan 2018.

I was thinking, without one inch of mechanic knowledge, could I change the plugs myself? I’ve read about it and watched videos and it doesn’t seem toooooo hard but I really don’t want to destroy the vehicle if I do something wrong. I have zero tools
so I’m gonna go out and buy some with my credit card (Happy Holidays!!!) and get to work.

What do you guys think I need? Can you guys provide me with whatever tips or general information you think I need or just wave a red flag and send me to another mechanic to do it.

I’ve always loved cars but have never done anything about it but now, I’ve been listening to Car Talks podcasts (which are soooo funny), learning about the basics of an engine and my now mechanical inspiration has really kicked up!

Please help!!!

Review video and determine yourself

1 Like

If the original plugs are in the car, they are now about 13 years old.