Repair and Maintenance

I have been driving a 1997 Ford Taurus Sedan for 6 years. It had 47,00 to start and now has 137,000. The owner would like to sell it to me. I know it has front wheel bushing problem and starter problem. What should I pay for it. It did not have buyers manual check ups. Just a new radiator and battery.

If you don’t own it, who does? A relative? It sounds like a $1500 car to me…Maybe $1100…

I have been taking care of her learning disabled son and she has me using this car for him. It has a new battery and radiator, but the front wheel is making a rubbing and squeaking sound and there is a need for two tires and it seems to have problems starting but starts.Seems to take me pushing on the gas pedal a couple of times to get it started.
Do you still think $1100?

Sounds like a $1000-1500 car to me. These cars are not hard to find since they made hundreds of thousands of them. Your rubbing/squeaking sound could be brakes, ball joints, or wheel bearings, in that order of likeliness. This should definitely be checked out as all are safety related items. Your starting issue is likely either an idle air control problem (cleaning the IAC valve may solve it) or the car could have some neglected maintenance issues. If it has the Vulcan V6, it probably has copper core spark plugs, which do erode with time. I used to have a '96 with the Vulcan V6, and started having a hard starting issue. Replacing the spark plugs and wires solved the problem, and understandably so. The plugs were worn down to a .085" gap!

Thank you so much. It was recommended to me to bring the car to a Ford dealership to have it evaluated and depending on that evaluation and what it would cost to bring it up to snuff, I would then be able to negotiate with the owner.
I so appreciate your information to me. I will tell the service guy at the dealership tomorrow.
Do you agree?