Recommended repairs on 1998 Suburban

My GMC Suburban has 97,000 miles, runs fine. My shop says the fan belt tensioner and the idler/pitman arms are loose, and should be replaced. They’re going to show it to me on the rack, but how loose is too loose for these items? What do I look for?

Well, do you trust your mechanic? These shouldn’t be big $$ items, and they do wear out.

It’s a widely advertised local independent shop, but I’ve never used them before and don’t personally know anyone who has. But, they’re auto mechanics…“Trust, but verify”. With their recommended fluid changes in all the diff’s, transfer case, power steering, transmission, and coolant, and adding in new rear brakes (and rear brake cylinders that are said to be leaking) the estimate comes to about $2200…big $$ for me.

Your Sub does not need any repairs that would prevent you from selling it. If normal maintiance is too much you need to take the bus :slight_smile:

You have 100K miles on a 12 year old truck. All the items you listed aren’t really repairs, they are maintenance. If you had the fluids changed in 30K or less miles then the fluid changes might not be necessary. If you’ve never changed them in the life of the vehicle then these items are now vital.

The $2,200 for the total bill seems high for what you are listing. Changing fluid in a diffential should be like $30 or 40. Rear brakes should be about $500. If you want post the item and est. cost item by item and you’ll get some feedback on the reasonable or not costs for the item.

Somehow we’ve got off track on this post - I don’t need advice about taking the bus (the nearest of which is 20 miles away), nor about the costs of repairs or maintenance. What I asked for was advice about how to evaluate the “looseness” of pitman and idler arms, i.e. what’s normal play, what’s “loose,” and what’s “too loose”. Those are the only replies I’m interested in. Thanks.