Recommended maintenance - manual vs dealer

This is my first time on this site so thanks in advance for being here. I purchased a new 2010 Volvo XC60 in May and it now has 10,500 kms on it. I read the manual which suggested maintenance every 12,000kms. However when I took the vehicle into the dealership this week to have winter tires put on, I mentioned that I hadn’t had a service yet and he was surprised and told me the dealership recommends every 6,000kms. My first thought was they just want to increase their revenue. Before this car, I had a 1998 Toyota 4 runner for 12 years, with over 350,000kms and took it in faithfully for the factory recommnended maintenance every 6,000 kms. I’m hoping to keep my Volvo for at least ten years, maybe longer. I’m confused - 6,000 or 12,000kms intervals for maintenance? My gut feeling is to go with the Volvo manual recommendation on this. Hopefully someone in this car community can help me out.

Generally speaking you can’t go wrong by following the manufacturer maintenance schedule i.e. owner’s manual. Just keep in mind that some stuff needs to be done on the basis of time too, not just miles accumulated.

I, personally, agree with the theory that the dealer just wants to make twice as much money, follow the owner’s manual.

Dealers are after the easy money. Even if everything they try to sell you is a good idea, you can have it done cheaper by a local independent mechanic.

Dealers are no better (or worse) than independent mechanics for almost anything you might need done on your car.  They will almost always charge more per hour and often more for parts and supplies.  They also tend to look at repairs a little different than the independent. 

A dealer may well recommend work that strictly may not be needed, but could be connected to the problem or maybe replace a part when a little repair would fix it ALMOST as good a new.