Rear Brake Light Toyota Camry 1996

Hi All,

I’m sure this question is a no brainer for all of you in CarTalk land but I’m a bit of a newbie. Anyways, I have a Toyota Camry 1996, and the right rear brake light works ONLY when my head lights are off. As soon as I turn on the head lights the right rear brake light stops working. Any ideas why this would happen? The right rear brake light has a new bulb and the connection looks good with exception of alittle rust, which I cleaned with Deoxit. Any help is appreciated.

Cheers,

ScKaSx

are you absolutely sure you installed to correct bulb?

sometimes it can be the simplest things that give the most trouble.

Ah, so you’re suggesting that the bulb might not be rated for the power difference between (brakes with no head lights) and (brakes with headlights on). Is this a large difference? I imagine it wouldn’t lose much power running the headlights in conjunction with the rear brake lights.

I guess I’m alittle confused since the brake lights WORK unless I turn on the head lights. But just to be sure I will double check by swaping for the bulb in the left rear brake light since that does work.

Any other ideas. Thanks by the way.

some bulbs have the double prong, with side by side points, others have the prongs slightly off set, some can be inserted the wrong way to make strange things happen. sometimes they fit in, enough to connect, but it is not correct.

you don’t say, but was this happening with the old bulb? or was it just burnt out?

So I tried a bulb from the working left rear light and I have the same problem. While I took the left rear bulb out I compared it to the one I’m using and they are the exact same.

When I first noticed the problem it wasn’t until after I changed the dead bulb. I guess this means I don’t know if it was happening before the old one went out. This is very bizzare!

Cheers,
ScKaSx