Reaction Elements in a 6L80

This is a question about a 2014 Chevrolet Silverado pickup. I am studying the power flow of a 6L80 six speed automatic transmission. I can see the reaction elements for 1st, 2nd, 6th, and reverse gears. However I am having difficult with the reaction elements for 3rd, 4th, and 5th. Can you help? This sounds like a good question for Transman614.

Second question, what is the improvement in fuel economy between the 6L80 behind a 350 ci engine against a 4L80 behind a 350 ci engine, both with the same rear ratio; the same diameter tires and vehicle weight?

transman hasn’t been active on this website in quite awhile

You’ll have to send him a personal message, I would think

otherwise, he won’t even know you’ve got a homework assignment for him

The difference with the 5.3L LS motor isn’t tremendous

and

I suspect that the 6 speed truck would be noticeably quicker than the 4 speed truck, and that improved peformance was the driving force behind the change. GM’s compeititors went to 5 and 6 speed transmissions around the same time, if not sooner. Ford went to a 6 speed in 2009, Dodge had a weird 4/5 speed transmission with two 2nd gear ratios (one for upshifts and one for downshifts) as early as 2002 and had a proper 5 speed automatic in 2003 with a 6 speed automatic showing up in 2012. Nissan had a 5 speed automatic with the first Titans in 2005, and Toyota has a 6 speed automatic in their Tundra as early as 2007.

1 Like

I don’t know about power flow but every additional gear in a transmission improves fuel efficiency. There are diminishing returns as the number goes from 6 to 8 to 9 to 10 speeds.

If you want real numbers, GM went from 4 speeds to 6 in the mid 2000’s with few other changes. Look to the trucks with 5.3 liter V8’s since 350’s never got 6 speeds. They were gone by then.

Was 2009 not the first year for GM to use the six speed? I had a 2008 Sierra for a short time. It had the 5.3 and a 4 speed.