Rare Harley?

Howdy Ya’ll!

I happened to come across an old Harley in someone’s shed while on a job site. (No I’m not a professional thief) I’m a plumber. One thing I noticed is that it was unusually small and very square/flat. I asked her about it and she said she actually forgot it was there. She thinks it’s a 50-something. Judging by bodylines I’d say late-60s. It turns out it’s a Harley-Davidson moped. No engine but she still has it.

My question is, what can I honestly offer her? Is this a rare “bike”? (I’ve never heard of a HD moped!) Will it be worth any value once restored?

That’s all I have right now. We have a Harley dealer nearby so I was gonna ask them some other questions as well.

Please let me know what you think or know!

Thanks!

JP3

You’ll spend more restoring it than you’ll ever get selling it.

This might be one of those Italian bikes Harley was selling in the 60s. 250 cc if I remember correctly. Is the kick stand on the right hand side?

I don’t remember a Harley Davidson moped.

I wasn’t around back then, but I do remember reading about H-D making a moped to compete with the Honda Cub.

This would be worth something to a collector somewhere, but you would have to find one who likes to collect things like this, which isn’t the average H-D collector.

I suggest you offer $50 if it is in bad shape, or $100 if it is in good shape. Then you should sell it in its current condition in Ebay. Let whoever wants to collect it fix it up.

I was thinking of the “Sprint,” which was a 250, but apparently there was also a moped and a scooter, the “Topper.”

If you can get it for a few bucks it might be worth it. I wouldn’t pay much, as parts may be hard to find.