Question for Transman - GM 4T45E

Picked up a 2010 Cobalt LS last week. I was wondering what a reasonable interval would be for a trans filter/fluid change (not flush)? I’ve read Dexron VI has a much longer life than Dexron III but I’m not comfortable with a 150k interval.

Driving conditions are semi-rural, 40-50 mph with the occasional stop sign or traffic light. I’m a fairly calm driver, that may change when my daughter gets her license though.

Pan and filter every 30k is the standard answer from most corners.

Interesting post. Our 08 GM car’s owner’s manual (V-6 engine) specifies that auto trans fluid is to be changed at 100K miles unless severe service. Possibly GM has learned more since 08 about their new trans fluid in use or else there are differences in recent GM transmissions that indicate a difference.

It is my observation that people who are aware of car use and maintenance, including myself, are often slow to realize or admit to changing reality that does not match up with their experience or preconceived notions. Trans fluid change at 30k miles may have been good and needed in the past. If if still applies with GM cars, then GM is in for trouble if it ever becomes apparent that they made a terrible error in recommending 100k or 150k mile trans fluid changes. I can’t believe that after all they have gone through that GM will let this happen. I feel confident that they have talked it over among their engineers and marketing people with management in the loop.

most guys on here know better than GM.