Putting airbags in an older car

My nephew is getting his first car; a 1991 Toyota Corolla. Pre-air bag. Can we get this car fitted with airbags? How much does this cost?

I don’t know of anyone that would retrofit a car with airbags. As far as I know, cars with airbags typically have unique bumper structures which allow the impact sensors to do their thing correctly. Plus you have to wire the thing, probably swap steering columns, blah blah blah.

Here’s the thing: if you teach the kid to buckle up, he’s doing infinitely better than he would be, airbag or no. From what I see, the real difference between cars with airbags and no airbags comes in those with side-curtain airbags which create something of a cocoon around the cabin. A dash-mount airbag helps with whiplash and other neck injuries, but doesn’t seem to be nearly as helpful in an accident as the side-curtain bags.

Take what I say with a grain of salt, I’m not an engineer…

No, you can not. Ask your lawyer why NOBODY would be willing to attempt this…

Besides, as Josh alluded to, airbags aren’t that good. Indeed, they can cause more harm than they prevent.

First, airbags are a SUPPLEMENTAL restraint system, hence the SRS seen on airbag covers. This means they are designed to work with the proper use of the seatbelt. If one is not wearing one’s seatbelt, the airbags can cause serious injury or death. Also, airbags are very dangerous for children and shorter or lighter people. There have been cases of children being killed (including a number of decapitations) by airbag deployment.

Also, it seems many, if not all, manufacturers have had problems with airbags deploy when they weren’t supposed to. Obviously, if an airbag deploys while cruising on the highway, the driver is likely going to get in a collision due to the noise, smoke and outright shock from the airbag.