Problem with 2008 Honda Civic EX Coupe 2D

Hi,
A problem has started with my son’s 2008 Honda Civic EX Coupe 2D, and with which I would appreciate some advice.

When completely cold, the engine on starting sounds very loud, a bit like an aero engine. On warming up however, the engine noise returns to normal. This problem apparently started quite suddenly, a few months ago. It is difficult to express a sound in words, but if the normal engine makes a Vrooom sound, then the sound when cold is more like an Aaaaaarrrr. I lifted the bonnet, and looking at the engine compartment, the sound seems to eminate from the left hand side of the engine block.

I did notice that when accelerating from a Stop sign just after starting the car, that I could here the engine revving up over the Aaaaarrrrr noise, and it seemed to be normal. Sorry, it that sounds confusing.

For reference, I am a qualified Engineer, but have little experience in car repairs. My practical knowledge goes as far as changing the battery, spark plugs or oil/air filters.

We will take the vehicle to a shop in a few days to see whether they can diagnose the problem. If not then we will take the vehicle to the Honda dealer. Before doing so however, I wanted to get some experience from the community, in order to not go in unprepared.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

A Happy New Year 2015 to all.

Thank you.

Are you an EE? Most cannot tie their shoes without illustrated instructions. A high pitched whine could easily be a belt squeal. Maybe a bad tensioner pulley. Bad alternator bearing and so on

Is this the noise?