Pressurized cooling system/white deposit

1994 Nissan Altima XE 5 speed 2.4L over 100,000 miles…last time cranked engine allowed to come up to operating temp while I was inside house staying warm…when came out heard squealing noise (metal to metal, bearing gone out-type of noise) + burning smell…shut car off. Lifted hood 3 weeks later to see if anything obvious…power steering fluid sprayed all over outside of resivoir (looks like from hose leak) and white deposit all over inside of hood and engine (antifreeze??)…removed radiator cap (cold eng that had not been run for 3 weeks)…was very suprised when antifreeze shot up about 3 inches out filler cap. First guess head gasket leaking? preasurizing cooling system (no history of engine having overheated)…any ideas?? Mechanic I had car towed to states nothing wrong with car & the fact that the cooling system was holding pressure was a good sign???..I’m not a mechanic, but it doesn’t sound like a good sign to me and it is deffinately not normal for my car.

Holding pressure for 3 weeks is a good sign. If you have a leak anywhere in the cooling system, and that includes a head gasket, then pressure will drop off to zero. Holding pressure is normal.

I have no idea what happened here originally but the car may have overheated due to a contrary thermostat or a failure of the cooling fans to cycle on. If this were the case cooling system pressure could override the radiator cap and boil over.
JMHO here, but I think of thermostats as a maintenance item and feel they should be replaced about every 3 years. They’re cheap and have been the cause of many roasted engines.

You should also verify the radiator fans are running. The fans should run whenver the cabin mode control is on the A/C, Bi-Level, or Defrost positions and should also run when the engine temp reaches a certain point even if the mode control is in the OFF position or on the HEAT position.

didn’t know the radiator fans were turned on with the AC, good info.