Pontiac Vibe Alignment Issue

I am a car novice and therefore am running this by the community to see if what I was told squares with reality. A few weeks back, we had recall work done on our 2009 Vibe. Recall #14139. Per the paperwork I was given, it had something to do with “driver airbag clockspring,” “necessary to replace SIR coil.” Anyway, a few days later, my wife drove the car (her first time since the recall work was done) and immediately noted that the steering wheel was about 40 degrees off center. (I had driven it as well, but didn’t notice until she pointed it out, as I am not the most observant.) It seemed obvious to us that this must have had something to do with the recall work that was done, as we are certain that the steering wheel was centered before we had the work done. However, I took it back today and they were adamant that this was not the case, that there was no way in the world that what they did during the recall could have had any impact on the centering of the steering wheel. I ended up paying about $70 for a wheel alignment, was told that my “toe” was off, due to normal wear and tear (83,000 miles), and that the timing was purely coincidental. So, my question is, does that sound suspect to anyone? Obviously there is no way to know for certain, but I’d be curious for anyone’s thoughts on the technician’s statements that nothing they would have done during the repair would have impacted the steering wheel centering. Please advise. (Trying to decide it it is worth my time to call the service manager and make some noise over this.)

Replacing the clock spring requires the wheel to be removed. Sounds like the got paid for the recall and you paid them for an unneeded alignment. Airbag Clock Spring Installation Video: http://youtu.be/NVTKiyg4mzs