Pontiac Grand Prix code P0304 misfire

07 Pontiac Grand Prix 177k miles. Engine misfire code P0304 indicated I change spark plugs, wires, and coils which I did. No fix. Then the reading recommends replacing fuel injectors, the shop I went to is reliable… but they said my cylinder 4 that’s misfiring has a pressure of 60 psi compared to the others which are fine. My car does not like to start up without giving it gas and they recommended me to either junk my car or spend money on replacing whatever is wrong with the engine (valves, rings, etc.) not sure what to do I really want to keep my car it’s my baby. What do you recommend is best? My car is in good condition and has everything I need.

I’m not a mechanic but you have pretty much eliminated the electrical part. If you swap injectors around you can see if the misfire follows the injector or not and eliminate that issue. The only additional work I would do if it turns out to be mechanical is to pull the valve cover for that side and inspect the rockers for possible wear. Is it making any valve clatter. I guess the worst would be pulling the head to repair a valve issue but that is dumping more money into it.

Mechanics may have a better answer.

That 60 psi is the compression pressure for that cylinder (#4). That is a fraction of what it should be. Your engine is worn out.

The solution, from most expensive to cheapest, is to replace it with a new engine, remanufactured engine or a used one from a junkyard car with fewer miles. All will cost thousands. If the rest of the car is in good shape, it might be worth the expense.

A far cheaper alternative might be to pour a can of Restore from the auto parts store into the oil and see if it helps. It can’t hurt. It might buy you some time.

3 Likes

This is why the engine mechanical condition should always be checked before spending money on the peripherals such as plugs, coils, and so on.