Buying a used AWD vehicle in a hilly, weather-y place. Need advice!

So.

I am getting my tax return. I am a 24 year old female (yes, female…) college student, and I have never owned or bought a vehicle. In fact, I’m a new driver. My dad has worked on cars his whole life and knows them inside and out, but he also tends to Gary-rig (Gary is his name) everything, and the cars he buys craps out within a few years. I don’t think I can trust him really, because he will see every odd car as something that can be sort of fixed as a project, rather than not good choices.

In any case, I was thinking of buying a car with my tax return. I will have a total of 4k to put towards it. I want to keep 1k in the bank for the inevitable tweaks the used vehicle will need.

My Funds: 3k-3.5k max

Weather: I live in a place with sometimes severe weather and little flat ground. It can hit -5 degrees in the winter ever so often, and get a few feet of snow. The next day, it can be 45 and sunny. During summer, it can be over 100 on extreme days. The city authorities are good about salting the roads and keeping them clear, but I still would like AWD or 4WD. I could also learn how to drive a front or real wheel drive car in the snow, but…I worry about that being less safe or less capable of handling, especially since nearly every road has a grade to it.

Use/Commute: My workplace is 4.6 miles away according to Google Maps. I would be going there 4-5 times a week. It has about a 10% grade the whole way. There are no flat places in this 110 square mile town, besides the freeway or the street going through the center of it. I would want a decent MPG considering the hilly-ness of this place and how the gas use will skyrocket just based on that.