Pimping my Passat with new wheels

Hi–

I’m a newbie here, so bear with me. I have a 2004 Passat GLS with 32,000 miles. When I need new tires, I want to replace the standard 15" wheels with 17". I’ve looked at websites and see Factory OEM, replica, remanufactured, and VW equipment. What does all this mean? What about ratios and stuff? Any advice?

Go to Tirerack.com, check out the “+2” options for your car, that’ll give you the correct wheel and, especially, tire size. Maintain the same overall tire diameter so you don’t have to worry about ratios and stuff. If 17s require shorter than 50 series tires, I’d go with 16s to better avoid rim and tire damage.

Thanks for the info. I’ll check it out.

Hi, texases–
I went to the site, entered info on my car, but couldn’t find the “+2” options you mentioned. Could you tell me where to look on the site? Thanks again.

Once you enter your car info, click on the ‘tire and wheel packages’ link, then select the rim size you want. I checked, for your car it looks like the 17s require 225/45ZR17 tires, so I’d go with 16s, but that’s up to you. I guess they no longer have the “+1” and “+2” options because there are now so many wheel sizes.

Thanks again! I really wanted those 17s but I also want what’s best for me and my car.

What’s best is some high quality 15" tires.

Put some of the money you save on rims on maintenance of the rest of the car.
It’s due for a trans fluid change if automatic.
Coolant change and thermostat, brake fluid change…

Hey, circuitsmith-- Thanks for the prompt. I take good care of my car; just wanted it perked up a bit to quell my “new-car fever”. Coming up on 35,000 check-up. I know that’s a big 'un.