Pacifica vs. Sienna

Hello!
We are looking for 4WD Minivan to be safe in Colorado Winter. Our options are Sienna or Pacifica. They look both appealing to us based on Youtube videos. We like to test drive them next week or the following week. I wonder anybody has any strong opinion on one of them. Also How do you compare the maintenance cost of a Toyota Sienna and a Chrysler Pacifica?

Thank you all in advance!

I owned a 2011 Sienna and now own a 2017 Sienna. Neither have 4WD. My son now has the 2011 Sienna and it has logged about 130,000 miles. The two repairs have been a water pump at 90,000 and an alternator at am125,000 miles. At 34,000 miles, I have had no repairs on the 2011 Sienna. I have had no experience with Chrysler minivans.

1 Like

I have a 2014 Dodge Grand Caravan and I have spent many hours at the dealer. I have 42000 miles.

1 Like

I like the Chrysler vans for their versatility and I find they fit me better, but the Toyota Vans definitely average less frequent repairs. If you are buying new the Toyota traditionally depreciates slower, if you are buying used, the faster depreciation of the Chrysler is to your benefit. If you ever want it to haul things, the stow and go seats in the Pacifica are wonderful.

1 Like

FWIW motortrend ranked the Pacifica as the number one minivan and then the Sienna as second. They don’t care much about reliability though.
As mentioned, if it was me, I would try and get a good deal on a used Pacifica, that is if you liked it during the test drive.

1 Like

Pacifica is renowned for cheap used prices in want ads. For a reason.
A Pacifica is comparable to a Venza. Look at that too.

1 Like

I doubt there is much difference if buying new . Of course you did not say new or used . If used then there is not a way to tell because not all used vehicle of any brand have the same problems all the time.

1 Like