Overheating Head Scratcher - fan clutch?

Driving a 2004 Chevy Express van w/ Vortec 6.0 V8.

A while ago, the car overheated on me after the heat was blowing cold. Swapped the thermostat to no avail, had a mechanic look at it to confirm my hypothesis of shot water pump; he said that was probably correct (no coolant flow).

I swapped out the water pump, hoses, therm, coolant

Likely importantly, I didn’t replace the fan clutch. I’m new to this stuff and didn’t realize that was part of the deal.

For about a thousand miles after this, everything seemed to be working fine, if running slightly over the usual operating temperature - I just figured my new thermostat opened a little later than the original.

Recently, my overheating problem has come back. The heat will blow cold most of the time and not seem to be cooling. Periodically, whatever is not engaging engages; then, the heat comes on and the engine temperature drops.

Does an old fan clutch sound like it might be the problem? The puzzling part has been that it seemed okay for a while and then kept giving me trouble. Any chance that could be consistent with this sort of thing?

If so, is it likely that I ruined the new water pump? Should I replace this again?

The clutch and the radiator are practically the only cooling components that haven’t been replaced.

My radiator is also slightly bowed (was in a fender bender, didn’t think much of it), but doesn’t leak or anything. Likely that that’s be an issue?

Thanks very much, everyone!!

1. Are you losing coolant?
  2. Under what conditions does the overheating occur?
  3. Is the radiator the original?
  4. Has all the air been purged from the cooling system?