Opinions on the '04 Kia Sedona

CR says stay away. looking at an '04 with low miles for $10,500. thoughts?

Stay away.

I have no direct experience with these but have often wondered about the Kia Sedona myself. But “stay away” isn’t very much information. I know a lot of people who say things like that based, not on real information, but only on it being a Korean company.

I recall that when Hondas and Toyotas first hit the market everyone said similar things. Now everyone will tell you to pay more to get one. So, if anyone has more specific info on the problems the Sedona has had, I’d like to know as well. I have actually heard quite good things about them, including high safety ratings.

Edmunds estimates repairs at about $2500 over the next 5 years; maintenance should be about $4400. They estimate repairs at $2850 and maintenance at $3500 for an Odyssey. That’s no so different. The estimated outlay for the Kia is $550 more compared to the Odyssey over 5 years.

I am going by memory here, which is very dangerous. However, I am going to make a suggestion for something you can do in this case, rather than stating a final opinion.

I have been reading CR of nearly 50 years, and have found their ratings very usable. Not flawless, but certainly much better than personal opinions of well-meaning people who sometimes have very high self-esteem.

By memory, I think when I read CR they have said Kia is much improved from its early days, and some models are acceptable. I do not think they have said avoid all Korean models, period. This is something you can check out for yourself, which is always the best way to do things.

Look at the car issue (usually April) and look for other Kia models, and then you will know the story. I am in Mexico and a lot of my stuff is in Texas, so I can’t look it up.