Olds 88 "almost" stalls when applying brakes

I drive an '92 Olds 88, 206k miles. I’ve had an issue recently that when applying the brakes at a low speed, the engine will act like it’s going to stall out, the “service engine” and “hot” lights will flash, but then the car will resume regular driving. The “stall” will happen for a quick second, but the engine will resume running and I’m good to go. This doesn’t happen every day (once a week). I took it into the local shop a couple weekends ago, but no code was stored. Any advice, suggestions, etc would be greatly appreciated. Oh - don’t know that this would have an affect but ever since the weather’s been warm (and probably before that), the AC hasn’t been working. The guys at the shop say a busted controller head, but I’ve decided the “off” button and rolling the windows down works just as well for “air”. I’m a grad student at the moment so I’d like to find the least expensive fix, if possible. :slight_smile: Any advice/help is greatly appreciated!

The lights are probably blinking on because the engine is temporarily approaching stall, turning the alternator too slowly for the moment to be charging the battery. But have the ECU scanned for codes anyway. AutoZone and some other parts stores will do this for free. Post teh codes here.

One real good possibility that comes to my mind is the brake booster. That’s a vacuum operated device the assist you in applying the brakes. It contains a diaphragm and some valves, arranged such that when the brakes are not applied vacuum from the engine is applied to both sides of the diaphragm, and when the brake pedal is pushed the back of the diaphragm is vented to ambient and the front becomes a sealed chamber.

The booster gets its vacuum from the engine. If the booster is bad, it could be allowing a vacuum leak to ambient as you apply the brakes.