Oil filters

Have been using Fram oil filters for over 40 years! Recently bought new Ford Fusion that uses synthetic oil! Is it ok to continue with Fram? Ive been told that Hasting’s filters are better but more expensive & so are the filters purchased from the dealer

There are several oil filter evaluation sites on the internet - just do a google search. I have been using Mobil 1 oil filters on my cars for the last 7 years because they are consistently rated as one of the best. My truck has 168,000 miles and still going strong with these filters and synthetic oil.

Dealer oil change $29.95 ( coupon; filt & 5 qts ), oil filter portion $7.00, Becoming friends with your dealer…priceless.

Not expesive. And, some Auto Zones carry Motorcraft too.

I have had no issues with any oil filter for over 30 years. I used Frams exclusively for nearly 20 years, and do not hesitate to use one today.

As purely a matter of choice and availability from where I buy them, I tend to use Motorcraft and Purolator filters. In your specific case, using the Motorcraft branded filter if it is available at Walmart could be your least expensive choice and you would have the assurance you are in 100% compliance with any Ford filter requirement.

There’s nothing wrong with Fram filters at all no matter what type of oil is used.
The only problem with Fram filters is internet innuendo.

The type of oil makes no difference. Fram filters are fine. They may look cheap and of lesser quality if you cut one apart, but in real day to day use, they are the equal of the expensive brands or OEM from the dealer (that may have been made by Fram.

The filters from the dealer are priced like everything else from a dealer, very very high. Most of their sales are what economist call in-elastic. In other words few buyers do comparative shopping so they can charge anything they want.