New to this - need help!

I have a 99 Saturn SC1 that has been sitting for 7 years. I know it needs new spark plugs, an oil change, and new gas. What are some other things I should look at for it? It already has a new battery. It will crank, but after a few seconds of bumpy running will shut off. This is sort of a project car for me. I’ve never worked on cars before, but I’m trying to learn. I would appreciate all the help I can get! Also, had no issues before sitting other than the things already mentioned.

Thanks in advance!

The gas is probably bad and needs to be flushed out, the tank cleaned, fuel lines and fuel injection system, too. If you open the gas cap and sniff, old bad gas has a very different stink.

If it starts, you need to safety check the brake system, change the coolant and brake fluid, and you may need to replace the tires. Lots to do, but work on starting it first.

1 Like

Agree 100% with @wentwest. Any gas that’s been sitting for 7 years is rotten. Fresh gas may get it running and keep it running. The more fresh gas you pass through the engine the better things will run. If the check engine light comes on, read the codes (readers can be bought or rented for free from auto parts stores) and post them here so we can help.

A very good resource is a Haynes Manual for your car. It has a lot of important and useful general info you’ll want to know, and chapter after chapter of maintenance and repair procedures for your make and model. By removing some of the mystery and hazard, it helps you decide what to do yourself now, what to turn over to others, and what things you might want to tackle when you’ve got more experience (and tools!)

Your biggest problem is going to be the timing chain. It is steel and lubricated by the oil pump when the engine is running. No oil means the chain has a lot of rust on it. Typically with Saturn’s that have sat over two years, the timing chain breaks within a month or two.