New car to work on, what should I get?

I recently commissioned in the US Navy and will be moving down to Pensacola where I will have an apartment with it’s own garage! That means its time to buy a car and get a tool set going.
I have taken 3.5 years of auto mechanics in high school so I feel very comfortable turning a wrench, but I am no expert. (I can do everything from oil change to transmission switch, but I don’t have the tools or confidence to do any rebuilding of an entire engine). So what I’m looking for is a car that is going to be easy to do my own work on but nothing too old.
My criteria right now is about $15000-$20000 and manual.

So what are your suggestions for a car, or things I should look for in a new car, that can easily be worked on and is in the 15,000-20,000 range?

First, congratulations on your commission. Thank you for your service. Now about your car.

I admire your willingness and determination to do your own maintenance and light repair. But I suggest that seeking an easy-to-fix car should be far down on your list of priorities.

Most of your DIY tasks will be equally easy on all cars or equally difficult. And would you turn down a great deal because of a rumor that replacing a headlight takes over an hour on this particular model?

Make your selection based on the same criteria that everyone else uses. That done, then check the forums for any special problems associated with that model.

Finally, we note that there are many new cars in your price range. They all come with warranties of 3 years or longer. As long as the warranty is in effect, you may not need to make a single repair yourself.

Agree, a new car will just require regular maintenance for several years to come. You’ll want to get a repair manual, and maybe a code scanner, but this would apply regardless of the car you get.

Are you wanting a used (new to you) car, or a new car?