What's within reach for a new DIYer?

Hi All,
First off, I’ll make it very clear that I’m new to the whole DIY scene for, well, almost anything. I’m at the point where I’d like to start learning how to work on my own car for pretty much all the reasons people get into that sort of thing. I figured out how to change my own air filter, and plan on giving my vehicle (1999 Buick LeSabre) its next oil change. I feel pretty confident that I’ll be able to pull it off. But I’m wondering, where to from there? I’ve heard it said that if you can pull off an oil change a lot of things in the DIY world are probably within your reach. Can you guys give me some examples of projects I might be able to put on my “to-do” list? Thanks in advance!

-Tino

I think the most important part is to be able to know how the car and all its systems function and to able to narrow down a specific problem. That to me is more important than merely getting to the “waterpump”.

Get a repair manual for your car. The next step could be a transmission pan drop/ATF change or front brake pads. Be careful, wear eye protection, don’t creep under a car unless it has been supported properly-that would not be a jack.

I’d like to refine a few things that galant said. First, get an official repair manual, not one of the close-but-not-exact ones at the auto parts store. Second, definitely wear the eye protection anytime you work around your battery and leave any air-conditioning repairs to the experts. Third, good ramps or good jack stands (preferably with backup support) are what’s usually recommended; never use cinder blocks.

You may need to pick up a few additional tools, such as a torque wrench.

Do you have a knowledgeable friend who can come over to supervise at first?