New Car Advice

First a bit of background:

I’m currently a graduate student in Princeton, NJ and I’m looking into buying my first car. I was given a 1997 SAAB 9000CS when I graduated from college. I’ve put 30K miles on it in the last two years (170,500 total) as well as about $1,500/year in repairs. The car originally cost ~$6,000 and I’m tired of dealing with it’s shenanigans (lots of kooky electrical issues). I just put $700 into getting through inspection with the hope of selling it for ~$1000 or at least improve the trade in value.

The new car:

I really like the hatchback style and so far i’ve looked into Subaru Imprezas and Mini Coopers. I like the cargo capacity of the Impreza and the 4WD but I also like the gas milage of the Cooper and the “fun factor”. I’m open to suggestions as well.

Basically I don’t want to spend more than $22,000. As for my driving habits, I mostly use my car to go surfing several times a week (30mi drive to shore from P’ton) and visit my girlfriend in Hartford, CT (180mi one way) at least every other weekend.

Any thoughts or comments on the suitability of the Impreza or the Mini or any other car are most welcome!

It seems you probalbly don’t need the complexity and later expensive upkeep of All Wheel Drive. Equally, the Mini, though a good car, will also have expensive upkeep, it’s a BMW after all.

For what you need to do, I would suggest some choices to try out:

1. Toyota Matrix; it’s a spacious hatchback with very high reliability, long life and cheap operation. Front passenger seat folds flat so you can carry your surfboard inside.

2. Hyundai Touring hatchback. Very similar to the Toyota in size, performance and affordabilty.

3. Honda Fit. Bigger than a Mini and will hold your surfboard INSIDE with the pasenger seat down.

4. Mazda 3 Sport Hatchback. This car is really fun to drive and cheap to operate.