Need some recommendations for replacing spark plugs

Howdy folks. I drive a 2005 Honda Accord LX (4-cyl), and am at 102K miles, so I figure it’s time to replace the spark plugs since they haven’t been done before (to my knowledge–I’m the second owner of the car). I’m not so worried about what kind of spark plugs to buy–gonna look at my car’s specs and probably just get what’s already in there.

But, I wanted to know if anyone has any tips or tricks I should know about before I get started. I’m relatively new to doing my own car repairs and maintenance, so anything y’all can offer in the way of advice would be greatly appreciated.

You’re right to buy the exact plugs specified to the car, nothing to be gained by other plugs. As for tips, do you have a torque wrench? You’ll want to tighten them to the correct specs. And you’ll want to gap them correctly, a plug gapping tool is not very expensive.

One other tool I’d recommend is a repair manual. That may help you remove the plastic cover and disconnect the clips that hold the COP wires without breaking anything.

You need a lubricant for the plug thread (anti seize compound). Put a little on the tread and smear it over the treads. If you wear examination gloves (thin rubber gloves), you won’t get your hands messy. Make sure the engine is cold. Doing it first thing in the morning is a good time.

Thanks, y’all, this is all extremely helpful.

If you use NGK plugs you don’t need any anti-seize. Those plugs already have an anti-seize coating.

Another tip: blow out any dirt and debris from around the plugs before removing them so the stuff doesn’t fall into the cylinders.

For what it’s worth, I believe the gap and torque specs for the plugs are in the owner’s manual

My advice is:

-Change the plugs one at a time to you make sure you hook up the wires correctly as you finish each one. This advice is especially handy if you change the spark plug wires at the same time.