Need help within the next hour! Engine Leaking oil?

Hi, I’m looking at buying a 1988 mitsubishi montero as a project for this summer. the body work is all manageable, but when i popped the hood, i noticed that there seemed to be a lot of oil leaking from the engine. The engine ran fine though (actually extremely well). I drove it around the parking lot for about 10 minutes and the engine didnt make any weird noises and didnt smoke or smell weird, but the oil leaking all over the engine concerns me. Does this seem like a head gasket seal, or something more serious like a cracked head? thanks so much

I’m no professional and I’m not real familiar with the Montero, but I too have a late 80’s Japanese car and it oozes oil. It runs great though, except for some pinging valves which is perfectly normal for a Jap V6 with this many miles on it. So it might be nothing more than the fact that this is an old car and things ooze. I have to add a quart every few fill ups; I just know to keep an eye on it. That being said, I would definitely take it for a better test drive than just around the parking lot. You really need to get it up to highway speed to experience how the car actually runs and operates. In a car that old many things could be wrong with it that you won’t notice at low speeds. Perhaps there’s a shimmy in the suspension, or trouble in the transmission. An oozing head gasket could be the least of your problems.

The true test is to get it on the highway, where problems really become evident. You can tell very little by circling the parking lot.

Since you apparently cannot do that, let me suggest some things you can do, assuming the current owner agrees.

You can check the compression. That’ll tell you if the engine is worn out.
Do a leakdown test while you’re at it.
“Read” the plugs when you remove them to do the compression check.
You can check the coolant for the presence of hydrocarbons.