Need help choosing a car

Hi folks,

I’ve been a regular listener for a long time, but this is my first time in the forums, so please forgive me if I’m violating any protocol. I’m in a bit of a pickle. I need to buy a new (used) car and I’m having a hard time deciding which one. As of right now, I’ve narrowed down my choices to two. I drive a lot, so I need decent/good mileage and since most of these miles are highway miles, I need a car that is very good on safety/reliability.

Here are the choices:

1. 2010 Nissan Altima 2.5 S - approximately 18K miles for about $16K.
  2. 2005 Volvo S60 - approximately 62K miles for about $12.5.

I’ve compared the two cars on Cars.com (http://www.cars.com/go/compare/trimCompare.jsp?acodes=USC00NIC041B0,USB50VOC171B0) and I’m unsure about which is the better value and choice.

With about 30-35K miles being put on the car per year, which car is going to last longer? Which is safer? Which will have value if I try to trade it in after 5-6 years?

Any input would be appreciated!

I would not get a Volvo, more problematic. So that leaves the newer Altima. But make sure you like the seats (that’s one Volvo strong point). Forget about trade in, after 6 years and 180k miles neither would be worth much.

Really? My current car is a Volvo S60 and I absolutely love it. What about it don’t you like? Are there other similar cars that you think might be a better fit (mid-size, safe, efficient)?

Older Volvos can be expensive to repair, but it looks like the 2005-2007 S60 does pretty well (‘better than average’ overall) on Consumer Reports. So if you’re happy with an S60, then have the one you’re considering carefully inspected.

Why are you selling your current S60?

Have you considered a used Lexus ES350?