Need advice on finding a classic

I am in love with Cadillac Eldorado’s from the 70’s; convertibles of course. If I can’t have a boat, I want a land yacht. Here is my situation. I am in grad school, so funds are somewhat limited. I am new to the restoration game, but feel competent doing minor to moderate repairs, and have mechanic friends and body shop people and even an upholsterer on my side. I am looking for something that runs, with working engine and transmission that don’t need work, just servicing. I want to make this into an intown daily driver, at least on weekends, but moreso just look forward to having a project other than research that I can get excited about. Trouble is, where in the heck do a find a car like this? I don’t mind it looking ugly, in fact that will help with price. Anyone know of someone that has one, or have advice on where to look? I have tried craigslist, hemmings, ebay. (I am in Athens, GA btw.) Thanks for any input.

Sorry to say this…but this is NOT a good idea.

Yes you can probably find one cheap…but you’ll spend more money keeping it running then what you paid for it.

The uglier it looks the more it’s going to cost you to keep it running.

Wait til you’re out of grad school and have a job that can afford this habit.

Grad school wasnt a good idea. Maybe this isnt either, but poor judgement aside…

Here’s your car. Go buy it. Then be prepared to spend several grand to get it running. But if you don’t have $5k set aside for the purchase plus repairs, then forget it.

http://atlanta.craigslist.org/eat/cto/4449922411.html

(1969 pink Caddy convertible, not runnning, $2,000 OBO, Snellville Georgia)

Since it’s not running and the owner needs to sell it quick, try offering $1000 and let him counter up to $1500. Plead your poverty as a grad student.

Heck, if I lived in Snellville, I’d probably buy it myself. :wink: