Need a title for my magazine feature

Hello all,

I’ve just joined and intend to become an involved member of this community. First however, I have a favor to ask. I am a writer and have just been tasked with writing a monthly feature for a local magazine. The article will feature a local citizen with some kind of compelling story regarding his or her car. It could be that the car is rare, a classic, extraordinarily expensive, or maybe tricked out in some different way. The first thing I need to do though, is come up with a name for the column. “Car of the Month” sounds too boring. Does anybody have any creative thoughts they can help me out with? Thank you!!

How about “Car Corner” or “The Parking Spot.”

Here’s some ideas: “My Drive”; “The Monthly Driver”; “This Car is Why I’m Divorced”; or “Just Drive”.

Here’s a couple of questions I’ve always wondered about car magazines, might make for a column idea at some point. First off, why are there no car magazines which specialize in how-to articles on how to keep your 100% stock 10-20 years old family car, like a Toyota Corolla/Camry and Honda Civic/Accord safe and on the road. How to diagnose and fix a no-start problem, etc. What tools you need, good detailed photos and drawing of the entire repair process. You know, the kind of stuff talked about in these forums. Instead all the car magazines I see on the bookstore shelf – and there seem to be hundreds – tend to avoid the econobox topic completely. They instead focus on how cool 1920’s roadsters and new Porsche 911’s look, and how to beef up a 56 Chevy to 900 HP. That kind of stuff. I can see some people would be interested in those topics, but to me, how a magazine featuring an article on how to diagnose a reduced mpg problem on a Honda Civic would be more interesting.