99 Taurus with coolant leak - advice, anti-ripoff strategies needed

Hi! Clueless newbie here… I am just a female computer geek who can fix computers (when I’m not too sick) but I can’t fix cars. I am also a breast cancer patient who can’t afford much because what little money I do have goes to medical treatment.

I live in southern Nevada, near Sunrise Mountain for anyone who knows the local area.

Might as well get advice from the experts before trying to get my long-suffering '99 Ford Taurus fixed.

A year ago, the car started leaking coolant from under the front bumper. Some guy working at a Midas poured some radiator stop leak and also poured a second bottle with a label that said gasket-something (stop leak for gaskets?) into the coolant system for free. The nice mechanic had a relative who also had breast cancer and he just wanted to help. I was perfectly aware this was a “chewing gum and duct tape” kind of fix, but still, I was very, very grateful.

To my surprise, that excuse for a fix worked for a whole 8 months. I knew the time would come when it would finally fail. That time came around the end of January of this year. The engine light went on one evening, then the next day there was a nice puddle right under the front bumper in the driveway. Car has been sitting there in the driveway ever since.

So I called the local Pep Boys to see what I was up against. They recommended replacing the whole darn radiator - even if it had no holes - because this is Southern Nevada after all.

As they said: this #$%@ hot desert location “eats coolant systems for lunch” in the summertime. According to them, that means I might as well get a whole new radiator anyway. It cost 600 bucks for the replacement, they said, “because you have to take the whole front end off to do it”. The current radiator is as old as the car.