NAPA ProSelect Filters (fuel filter) for 1999 Honda CRV

My car recently started having engine hesitation (more obvious when A/C comes on) during idle. I suspect the fuel filter should be replaced. I am thinking to replace it myself. When searching parts online, I found NAPA ProSelect Filters and it is less than $10. I don’t expect the filter to last many years, 5 years will do :-). Do you think this part is good enough? My main concern is that it should not leak or cause fire or something bad like that. Also, please advice what I should pay attention when working on it. I remember I did fuel filter replacement some 20 years ago on a Civic, so I could use some advice when I attempt this again :-). I am a car repair newbie, so please be patient with me.

Thank you!

I’d use it with no reservations.

Many NAPA filters are made by Wix. Some aren’t though. I know their Gold Oil filters are.

You can’t buy a better filter then Wix.

Th fuel filter is unlikely to be involved in engine hesitation at idle.

4 Likes

Are you sure? I read when filter got really dirty, it affects/blocks fuel supply so it could cause engine hesitation. Why don’t you think this could be the cause? Thanks!

Also, do you have suggestions where else to look?

Little fuel needed at idle. Fuel supply issue much more likely to happen when demand is high, as when accelerating. Still, it’s a good idea to replace the filter on schedule. I have done it on my 1999 Honda a few times.

Your car may have something in the throttle body called an idle air control motor or the like. That could be the problem area. When AC compressor clutch activates electrically, an electric signal should kick up the idle air little bit, to compensate for the drag from the compressor.

It’s also possible your compressor is shot - too hard to turn.

2 Likes