My Sorry Saturn

Ive got a '95 Saturn SL-2 with 1.9DOHC and an automatic transmission. Several weeks ago, the normally reliable Saturn started missing, and being a reasonably knowledgeable mechanic I did all of the standard tests. I checked my spark plug gaps and for improper firing (the No. 3 was wet), I checked my spark plug wires (visually and with my Ohm meter), I checked my coil packs for corrosion and resistance between the posts, I checked the wires going into the ignition module and the module itself. Everything pointed to the No. 3 cylinder firing very weakly, and to the ignition module being bad. Since it had been about 30k since changing the plugs, and 60k changing the wires I decided to replace everything(plugs, wires, coil packs, ignition module) just to be safe. The Saturn still has a very weak spark on the No. 3 cylinder and obviously still idles very rough. What else could cause this to happen? Would the next step be replacing the PCM?

How did you determine that the spark on #3 is weak? Could the spark be OK but the injector is leaking and causing the plug to be wet? Is the compression on #3 OK?

Yes, I would wonder about a stuck injector.

I’d run a compression test. This should be done every time a performance problem exists and the plugs are out so kill that bird right then and there.

A plug with a wet tip can also be a sign of lowered compression.