My engine is slipping and I am not sure if it is related to my clutch

I’ve been driving my 96 Toyota Camrey for about 5 months now and it has 240k miles on it. For a while when I drive the car, especially on the highway, I can feel the car vibrate. I thought the air in the tires were low so I put more in and the car drove somewhat better. As time went by I started to feel it again, more so on the hightway. Now, about a week ago I drove off of the highway and stopped at a light. The car started to vibrate a little more than usual and then gave out. I knew that the car was low on oil so I thought this would be the main reason. I towed it to a shop where they put more oil in and tested the car to see why it stalled. They said they ran the car for 45 minutes and did not get any stalling but they did notice that the clutch was slippping and suggested I get it repaired asap. I drove the car home and noticed that it was still a bit shackey. They did suggest that I get an oil chage which I have yet to do. I few days later my car stalled again and this time I was able to start it back up. I was at a stop light in first gear when this happened. This makes me nervous because I do not want to have to tow my car to an autoshop again to have them tell me the same thing. The mechanics were mostly concerned with the clutch. They did not find anything wrong with the engine when they looked at it. Also, it has been very cold all of sudden do to this shady weather and that may have caused some difficulty with the engine. Is there any correlation between my clutch slipping and my engine giving out? Are the gears not in synch when I stop thus causing the car to die? I am not sure what is going on but I do have a feeling it is in relation to my clutch. As long as I am driving (except on the hightway) the car is fine but when I stop that is when I get the problems. The car has been low on oil for about a month or so and lately I’ve been getting a faint smell. If anyone has a clue please