My Car WON't start

My name is Elodie, I have a 1997 2.5 Acura TL. I have had many issues with the car and basically replaced everything. For the past 6 months i have been having the same problem where sometimes it starts and sometimes it does not. It does not start when it’s cold outside. My mechanic changed all of the electrical computer stuff related to my car, he also added a fuel filter because he had no idea how to access the fuel pump, which he believed was the problem and i have spent almost $1000 on this issue, do you have any ideas what the problem might be? When i place the key in the ignition everything turns on but once i try to start it, it just cranks and cranks will not start. Please help. I am a college student and cannot afford a new car or even to lease one right now so any help i can get would be appreciated

you need a new mechanic.

+1 to wesw’s comment.
I was thinking that the mechanic is incompetent almost from the beginning of the post, but once I read “he had no idea how to access the fuel pump” , that confirmed it for me.

While I empathize with the OP, I can’t understand why she would return again and again to a mechanic who has demonstrated–again and again–that he has no clue as to what he is doing.
Additionally, this mechanic may have consciously cheated the OP if he claimed that he “changed all of the electrical computer stuff”. There is a very strong possibility that he charged for parts that were never installed, or that were totally unnecessary.

If the OP goes to the top of this page, and clicks on the words, “Mechanics files”, that will lead to a search engine. By entering your zip code in the appropriate place, you can find nearby mechanics who have been recommended by forum members.

Divorce yourself from this so-called mechanic immediately!