My 97 K1500 wont start. Please help

so yesterday i drove my 97 k1500 to work, less than one mile from my house. Ran fine, after i finished working i came back to my truck to go home turned the key “CLICK” nothing. will not start. I checked all fluids, battery, and starter. all fluids in operating range, full battery, so i assumed my starter had givin up. Took my starter into the shop to get tested, nothing wrong with it. I put the starter back in the truck got in turned the key and again a single “CLICK”. for every new turn of the key i hear a single “CLICK” which to me, although i am no mechanic, sounds like the starter engaging. i thought maybe the starter is in fact engaging but can not turn my flywheel, so i got a new starter, installed it and “CLICK” same thing. Please help, i have no idea what to do now.

Remove both battery cables from the battery. And on the positive cable peel back the red rubber cover to expose the two terminals. If a lot of corrosion is found under the rubber cover, clean the corrosion and reconnect the battery cables. If this gets the engine started, plan on replacing the positive battery cable assembly.

Tester

I already checked my terminals, they are both clean. also the battery is newer, within the past three months

Have you tried starting in “neutral” when this happens. It may be a bad neutral safety switch. Usually there is no “click” but try starting in neutral anyway. If the engine starts…you know what to replace. If your vehicle is a standard shift…it may be the “clutch interlock switch” which is basically the same thing as a neutral safety switch. It’s a little harder to diagnose as bad because putting the shifter in neutral has no effect.

have you actually taken the terminals off and cleaned them? if they are aftermarket connectors, you will also have to clean where the wire connects with the clamps.