Motor has not been started in 8+ years, what precautions do I need to take?

I just recently purchased a 1995 Dolphin motorhome that has not been started in 8+ years. I have been advised by multiple people that I shouldn’t even try to start the motor before changing the oil and draining the gas tank or the motor will seize. Now these people are by no means auto mechanics or experts and I would just like a few other opinions. Do these people speak the truth? What should be done? Thanks for your help.

@Casshoppy

I am a professional mechanic

You would be a fool to try to start the thing on that gas

In fact, it’s not really even gasoline anymore. It has degraded to the point that it will in all likelihood not ignite.

There is a chance the fuel pump and sender have already been damaged by the crap that’s in the tank. I’m assuming the fuel pump is inside the tank, correct?

If the tank has a drain, use it.

The ideal solution would be to remove the tank, drain the crap and wipe out the sludge and varnish. Believe me, it’s in there.

If that’s not an option, siphon out the crap and fill with new fuel.

Change the oil and filter

Remove the valve covers and squirt some oil on the valvetrain

Remove the plugs and squirt a shot of oil in there

May as well change the plugs if in doubt

Then turn the engine over with a socket and breaker bar to free up the rings

Install a fresh battery

After all that, prime the fuel system a few times before attempting to start this thing

Good luck, and let us know how you make out

A lot depends on the storage conditions.

Where was it stored (in a garage in Florida or in Alaska?

The fact is you will need to tell us more. Also I would suggest that you have it checked by a good mechanic.

You must expect the gas in the tank to be bad. I’d drain the old fuel out of the tank.