Mechanical issues and car model for fictional story set in France late 30's

Hi everyone,
This is my first time here and I hope you don’t mind asking your help for a script I am writing. I have very little knowledge of cars and mechanics and I would hope to find someone passionate for cars within the following context: France late 30’s. Your help in choosing a cool model for my character would be greatly appreciated. He is a student but his father (owner of the car) is a respected and successful business man. I would say they are upper middle class of the time. The car is to be “used” for travelling along the country, and not just for the city. Ideally not very hard to find today so it can be used for shooting the film (if I can make it happen); and also very cool. There is a scene in which the car is travelling up a valley and after a brief stop, it doesn’t start again. Either I just go with an “easy” no more fuel, or you could help me to describe a possible failure, that would make it more interesting.

Thank you in advance.

Vapor lock." Vapor lock happens when your fuel boils in your carburetor or your fuel line . Vaporized fuel creates back pressure in your fuel system and prevents gas from getting to your engine. It commonly occurs when a car has been idling or has been turned off and then back on." 1930 pugeot File:Peugeot 201 1930 03.JPG - Wikimedia Commons

1 Like

You’re not looking for a car you’re looking for a unicorn :unicorn:. If you think making a movie is hard. Finding a late 30’s French car that even runs and is for sale or rent will be pretty near impossible. And finding. “cool” one, you’re really going out on a limb.

1 Like

Hmm, for me, though not terrible cool, a Citroen.

2 Likes

I disagree. France has classic car enthusiasts just as The US does, and those folks have preserved a decent number of that country’s distinctive cars.