Mechanic shop replacing LOTS of batteries

Had my car in for service today; oil change, tire rotation, do an overdue flush of both cooling system and brake lines, and replace the aging battery.

Seems they have been replacing twice as many batteries as usual in the past few months due to so many people letting cars sit a lot this past year and not regularly taking a long enough drive to deep charge the battery.

And since the shop probably sells batteries but not necessarily trickle chargers, it makes sense to sell what they have instead of sending the customer somewhere else to buy what he/she needs.

They are selling a new battery because they don’t want the same person back next week because the person did not use the trickle charger . At least the new battery will have some kind of warranty.

1 Like

I’ve been using this shop for all non-warranty work for almost 20 years. They’ve earned my trust over the years. Since I likely will need to take an 800-900 mile round trip soon I chose to replace the battery.

The shop didn’t try to sell me a battery since the existing one tested as still ok. They merely reminded me how old in time and mileage it was. I’m the one who decided to err on the side of caution.

You gotta remember, I’m a senior aged woman with some health issues and really don’t want to risk being stranded by the side of the road waiting for AAA to show up, especially since AAA is now farming out their calls here to tow companies rather than having their own service trucks that carry batteries on board. Been there, done that twice in years past and don’t care for a repeat.

1 Like

I don’t know if this applies to all cars, 2017 acadia limited, remote start, had to replace the battery as no start at 12 below or so, Dealer 630 cca, repair shop have to buy from the dealer and it has to be programmed for remote start. 630 cca is lame to begin with, not sure what other cars are coming with.