Low octane fuel in a high-octane required vehicle?

hi
I am proposing to get a new Subaru Forester. The Forester has 2 engine options, the usual one which works on normal/low octane gasoline, and the turbo which says that the high-octane gasoline is required… The turbo also gives less mileage… as a trade in for higher power… As I am new to a turbo engine, I was wondering what difference it would make if I use the low octane fuel in the turbo-engine… Will this harm the engine, or void its warranty ? The turbo already gets low mileage, and I dont think a fuel swap may make it a gas guzzling hummer anyways… (?) Are there any subaru-turbo owners here who use normal/low-ocatane gasoline in their vehicles… on a routine basis…

For everyday driving I dont mind getting a little lesser performance (mileage does matter, though), and I dont mind using the high-octane gasoline once in a while which I am touring on rough roads…

Anyone…

Ghat

Turbo = premium.
Save $$ = non-turbo.

Yup, texases is correct.
If you want to be able to use regular-grade gas, then you should NOT buy a car with a turbocharged engine. Use of regular gas in a turbocharged engine will lead to damage that would not be covered by warranty.

Translation:
You can’t afford to save money like that.

Ask to see what the owner’s manual says about premium fuel for the turbo motor and it sounds like you may have already done that. The key words to follow are “Must Use Premium” or “Premium Is Recommended”. You said “Required” from your source so that is your answer.

If you want to play you gotta pay. If paying an extra $3 a fillup runs afoul of your sensibilities, then opt for the standard N/A engine.