Low gas pressure due to dirty gasoline

I just spent $746 to replace the fuel pump and fuel filter on my 2003 Windstar. My fuel pressure was very low. I have been driving for 52 years and have never previously experienced low fuel pressure due to dirty gasoline. The fuel pump was stained bright orange due to rust contamination. The fuel tank is plastic so the rust had to come from the input gas. The filter was clogged and had loose iron powder at the input. For the last 2 years, I have purchased discount gas from the same place–which has to be the problem. I am wondering if other drivers have had fuel pumps and filters ruined due to contaminated discount gas? The mechanic noted his dad ruined a fuel pump with off-brand gas. Aren’t gas station filters designed to remove rust and other contamination before injection into auto tanks? I never previously considered discount gas a potential problem. Why did it take 52 years to cause a problem? Have others experienced this dirty gas problem?

I don’t understand “rust stained gas”. Is there no possible metal part in your fuel tank that could be producing the rust?

Many 2003 cars have had their first fuel pump replaced by now and also many have not.

There is no metal in the fuel tank…or in the gas line. The white plastic fuel pump was stained bright orange due to rust contamination. What puzzled me was the amount of fine iron powder that had had passed through the sock filter in the gas tank, through the pump, the gas line, then had clogged the main gas line filter with fine iron powder falling loose at the filter input.