Looking for Subcompact Car- Are first year productions bad?

I have a few questions lined up.
I am a college student who is looking (with the financial help from the parents) for a decent subcompact car that will last me through graduate school and into the workforce- I.E. 10 years. We don’t want to spend excessive amounts, but we feel that we can spend in the area of $15,000 (cheaper is obviously preferred). Also, we are wanting a hatchback for the practicality (with both sisters in Ford Focus Sedans, we are going in a new direction) and high MPG (relatively).

Also note that time is of the essence- we need to buy this car by May (the current car I have is about to die and it is out of the question to repair it since a $2000 1995 Jeep Grand Cherokee would need to have the transmission, rear end, and potentially other parts replaced).

1. What subcompact car would you recommend?
  2. Is it a horrible idea to buy a Chevy Sonic since it is in its first year of production?
  3. Do you have any other recommendations beyond subcompact cars?

It’s been generally accepted advice to wait out the first year’s production, BUT
With the longer warranties these days you may be protected enough.
If it’s being built on a proven platform it should be ok.
With the r & d that the builders use these days I think you’ll be ok too.
And…recalls are a good thing. Let them fix or modify any they need to.

Always buy a brand which can easily be serviced locally.

( example, in this small town I would never consider the new little Fiat. The closest service ?..140 miles one way )

I think it depends on the mfgr and how new is this car? For instance a new update of the Civic is not something I’d worry about. A completely new model might be a different story. Is the Sonic new to the US but has been sold elsewhere for a year or two? GM has a mixed record with new models, some are fine and some have some flaws.

So do you know if the Chevy Sonix is a 2012 Aveo or a completely new series?