Legality of replacing a working catalytic converter with a better one

With the price of gasoline on the rise, I was thinking about one or two upgrades that might help improve the mileage of an old 1998 acura. I really want to upgrade the factory exhaust system to help the engine breath easier. replacing the factory manifold with headers is an easy choice, but I’m wondering about the catalytic converter and the EPA’s rules. If the cat is still in working condition, even though it’s closing in on 20 years old, am I allowed to replace it with a more modern one with less restriction if the emissions stay the same or get better? It’s a question of spirit of the law vs. letter of the law.

No is the legal answer. ( this is my opinion only and I am not a lawyer.) The practical answer is probably only if you live in a state with no emissions testing.

I saw a really funny episode of Peoples Court where one of the litigants had a foreign accent and could not pronounce lawyer and liar differently.

Calculate the payoff, then decide, Loosing proposition in my book.

How can it be not legal? What do you do if your cat needs replacing, get a new one, right?

Because he doesn’t want to replace it with a LIKE KIND converter; he wants to upgrade.

From what I know, the EPA is anal about such things. You either get the correct serial number part, or a part that has been “determined to be equivalent” (by MFR spending for testing)…or you’re “noncompliant.” The fact that the converter you’ve installed may well be far more efficient/less polluting than OEM is beside the point!

Another instance of EPA inflexibility: with “modern” lawnmowers, the carb adjustments are set at the factory, and plugged with tamper-proof seals. If I happened to notice it was running far too rich on “default” settings…and I defeated the seal to lean it out…I’d have a cleaner-running mower that consumed less gas, AND I’d be in violation of the Clean Air Act.