Leasing vs Buying, what about when the lease price is this low?

I’m looking to buy a new car for work commute (about 40 miles a day or so) and deciding whether to buy or lease. My work commute consists of 60% highway, the rest is city driving bumper to bumper. Most of the roads are full of multiple potholes. I do about 450 miles per month.

There are special signing events where I can get a Jetta, Corolla, or a Prius C for $99 a month with $0 due at signing for 36 months with up to 12k miles every year. I’m not an expert at “financial math” but isn’t this a better deal than buying a car? Buying the car would be about $20K and require 5 year finance.

Every 3 years, I could just get a $99 lease and keep it going. All maintenance would be covered.

I have no idea how much more insurance would cost.

So is the lease better than buying the car?

Edit: I did a insurance quote for the Jetta and it’s about a $50 increase in the 6 month premium.

2 Likes

40 miles a day by 5 is 200 miles by 50weeks is 10000 miles a year. That leaves 2000 miles for weekends and vacation. You are correct . your math skills need work.

Whose to say the lease will be that amount when up. Maybe it’s just for first time leasors. I would read the fine print before I decided anything was the best way of doing it. I am one of the few here who think occasionally, leasing is better. But, it dependeds upon a person’s individual finances and use situation and a one size fits all policy seldom works for everyone.

The devil is in the details. This sounds like a good offer - but there are “come on” ads all the time in the world of auto sales. Go to a dealer and see if you can really lease a car as advertised? Is the car a completely stripped down model or equipped to your needs? I’d expect a significant attempt to up sell you to a more expensive car.