Lease Buyout Wrong VIN

Yesterday I went to the dealership that I leased a car from to purchase the car now that the term is up. After signing the paperwork I’ve realized now that the car I purchased on paper isn’t the car I’ve been driving for 3 years. I leased a 2016 and all the paperwork I came home with lists a new 2018 model on it with a VIN of car still sitting on a dealer lot elsewhere in the state.

I read each document before signing and I admit my eye went right past the model year and I don’t have my VIN memorized but isn’t this a rather large “messup” by be dealership? I financed the purchase through the dealer but have not heard from them today.

Other than comments on me being dim for signing the dotted line on a car I haven’t checked the VIN for I’d be I interested in hearing thoughts. I’ve been vague on purpose but the make is “above” a Honda and “below” a BMW. Anything I should look out for when I engage the dealership? How should I approach the situation, communicate with the sales guy or get in touch with the GM? Expect a 2018 upgrade because both sides signed a dozen documents? I’ve spoken with a couple car guys and neither have heard of this happening.

Thanks in advance.

That sucks having your brand new BMW stolen before you even got to drive it. :rofl:

I’d call the dealer and let them know about the screw-up on the paperwork.

The finance guy at the dealer probably just screwed up.

People make mistakes, VINs are copied and pasted in error. Return to the dealer and have the contract rewritten.

I’d go back and ask them why I was given a Honda when I clearly bought a BMW. Just be ready for jokes about the guy who bought a BMW, but didn’t realize he was given a Honda instead.

Sedag knows the car but has not told us what it is. He has bought the same car he had leased and has been driving. The paperwork is incorrect.