Large BULGE in Car tire of rental car

I rented a car for one week and drove it very little. I am a capable and careful driver. When I returned the car, there was a Bulge-- 3" x 3", which stuck out about 1/2", on the sidewall of the front passenger side tire. Budget is now trying to get ME to pay for this ($170) saying that it is “Obvious Customer Damage”. I say it is a tire DEFECT and not my fault… there were NO scuff marks on the tire, and I did not drive up against anything. Am I correct to say it was a defect and not my fault? How likely is it that the bulge would be something I did? The car was only 2 months old, with new tires.

Budget Car Rental rented you a vehicle with a defective tire. The tire was manufactured with a flaw in sidewall cords causing the bulge.

Tester

Sorry, but bulges just don’t happen. I think the tire knocked into something. Perhaps it was there before you took the car but didn’t notice it. If you paid for the rental on a credit card, check with the card provider to see if they cover the rental with extra insurance, many cards do this especially American Express.

Stuff like this happens with rental cars which is why you take a careful look and inspect the car before you drive it away. I won’t say a sidewall bulge could never happen, or that a tire is never defective, but it is a rarity when compared to driver’s hitting curbs and potholes.

I once took delivery of a rental car, the tire was low on air. Pointed it out, they put air in it. Asked what if it looses air again. They said they checked it, I was late and in a hurry, so drove off. Did my job interview and came out and sure enough the tire was completely flat. They flat out denied that there was a problem before delivery even though I had names of the people involved. I hung up, did repair the tire at a local shop and never talked about it to them again. They wanted to put the tab for a new tire on me.