Known problems in the 2008 Lexus GX 470?

Hello, What type of problems have you had with your 2008 GX 470 if any?

Help me out here . I just do not understand all the posts like this that show up here . Are you looking to buy one or do you have one ? A 2008 is now 11 years old so any of them could have a lot of problems or some of them might have hardly any. If the 2008 GX 470 did have some problems when sold new they could have all been fixed by now.

Hello, I am looking to buy a 2008 lexus gx 470 and I just wanted to know if there is anything about this vehicle that is problematic besides the normal wear and tear?

Allen

Then spend about 100 to 125 dollars for a mechanic to look the vehicle over for problems .

Yes, of course I would do that; however, that does not answer my question.

This is my first time on carcomplaints.com so I think I clicked on the wrong

place and asked the wrong question. Thank you anyway.

I am in the minority but I don’t think much of the Carcomplaints site. I have doubts about the ability of some people to really know if they have a problem. Whether it really gives a good idea of how good a vehicle is some say it is .

Thank you for your input. for some reason I thought I would be put in contact with other gx 470 owners in hopes of learning of their experiences good or bad. I have had 3 rx’s and am ready to move up to a bigger and more expensive vehicle so I thought I would
do some research today before I buy one. according to car complaints, 05 and 08 are the years with the least amount of problems, but like you said, some people may not know if they really have a problem.

The GX 470 is a very reliable vehicle. I have replaced radiators, alternators and rear air suspension air bags on customers GX 470s. A pre-purchase inspection might show that these things have been replaced but there is no way to predict the life span of these parts.

That engine has a timing belt, it must be replaced every 9 years/90,000 miles.